Olympics – My Favourite Moments so Far!

Week 1 of the Olympics is coming to a close this weekend, so I thought I’d round up some of my favourite moments! Now even though I’m british and we’re doing stonkingly well so far, I will be impartial so you’ll several nationalisites in this round-up!

Swimming

Canadian swimmer Santo Conorelli gives his Dad the finger before each race. What a pair of legends!

Santo Condorelli
(Photo taken from news.com.au)

Chinese swimmer Fu Yuanhui is one of the most adorbale characters from the Olympics so far. She’s enthusiastic, a little bit nerdy and looks like she’s having a ball! She even had to be told by a Chinese news reporter that she’s won the bronze medal!

Check out her Twitter Moment for some of the best GIFS.

 

Gymnastics

Team USA Gymnasts Aly Raisman & Simone Biles competing in the team all-round final and the individual all-round final (she’ll compete in the 4 individual events next week).

Both of these ladies are simple INCREDIBLE! I loved Raisman’s beam routine and both of their floor routines. In the words of Bring It On, they “stick it”!

Max Whitlock achieving bronze in the men’s individual all-round competition was also a highlight!

Synchronised Diving

I missed the women’s events because I was watching the gymnastics, but the 10m and 3m men’s events were incredible! The emotion from both team GB pairs was great to see. Chris Mears & Jack Laugher on 3m winning Gold and Tom Daley & Dan Goodfellow on 10m winning Bronze.

The Chinese pair in the 10m event were unsurpassed and my favouriote name from the Olympics so far came from the Team USA pair – Steele Johnson!

Let’s not even mention the green pool!

Track & Field

I haven’t seen much of the track and field action so far, but there are two standouts, both coming from the 10,000 metre races.

In the men’s race, Mo Farah had a nasty tumble and then proceeded to get up, finish and WIN the race! Such incredible sportsmanship and his post-race interview for the BBC showed just how much emotion these athletes put into their sport.

I love Mo, and if you can access BBC iPlayer I would definitely recommend watching the “Mo Farah: Race of His Life” documentary. Watch it here.

Ethiopioan running superstar Almaz Ayana breaking the World Record in the women’s 10,000 metre race was amazing to watch as she flew around the track! She finished the race in 29:17.45 which is my average 5k pace! I cannot even fathom how it would feel to keep up that pace for over 6 miles!

That’s my round-up so far! The time difference has meant I don’t get to watch as much of the Games as I would like, but the BBC coverage has been excellent, especially with the red button.

I’ll do another post once the Olympics have finished with the rest of my favourite moments. Please share in the comments section what your favourite moment has been and why!
xoxo

Leave a Reply

