Yorkshire Dales Food and Drink Festival

So, the countdown to my holiday took an almighty break this weekend as I attended the Yorkshire Food Festival and indulged in all sorts of delicious food & drink, as well as getting a masterclass from some famous chefs!

We watched James Martin in a live cookery demo making mushroom pasta, mackerel with pickled vegetables and then an apple charlotte. The day before, The Hairy Bikers had done a live demo but I didn’t get to see them unfortunately.

James Martin

James Martin

There were so many food trucks and stalls giving away samples and selling their produce, and myself and a friend ended up spending too much money on various dips, spreads and sweet things! All washed down with far too many glasses of prosecco, I was tipsy by 3pm!

So here’s a rundown of what we enjoyed the most…

The Doughnut Guy

The Doughnut Guy

Freshly made doughnuts from Newcastle-based “The Doughnut Guy”. You could choose from a range of sauces and toppings. I went with slated caramel sauce and pecans – I wanted to marry these doughnuts!

Prosecco pop

A prosecco and peach Bellini ice pop – just what we needed to cleanse the palette between bites!

And yes – that’s a different glass of prosecco in each picture:-)

Taylor and Bennett Dark Chocolate

Coffee and cacao nib dark chocolate from Taylor and Bennett (Artisan chocolate and confectionery who use cacao husks and recycled coffee cups to make their packaging) – I was terribly British and having tasted the chocolate samples, bought this chocolate for £6 which is ridiculously expensive because I didn’t want to put it back! It is lovely chocolate though, so I’ll save it for a special night in with myself.

Salted Caramel Fudge

Salted caramel butter fudge – I can’t remember the name of the confectioner, it might be Sugar Rush. This fudge was delicious!

Shire Honey Chipotle Jam

Spring flower honey from Shire – really smooth and delicious.

Chipotle Jam – again I can’t remember who makes this but it really was sweet and smoky and packed a real punch. Delicious with tortilla chips!

Smokin BluesCrepes and Shakes

Two more of the food trucks at the festival.

Crepes and Shakes – their pancakes smelled divine!

Smokin Blues – Seriously good pulled pork – I had the loaded fries topped with pulled pork, BBQ sauce, cheese and chip spice! So good, but in my drunken state I dropped the last few on the walk home, womp womp!

I’ll definitely be booking tickets for 2017! If you want more information their official website is here: www.yorkshiredalesfoodanddrinkfestival.com

xoxo

One thought on “Yorkshire Dales Food and Drink Festival

Leave a Reply

