Post-Race Recap

The finish line is just the beginning of a whole new race.

This past Sunday (10th July) I ran the We Love Manchester 10k, and boy, it kicked my arse!

About the race

The We Love Manchester 10k sarts and finishes at SportCity in Manchester, home of the commonwealth games in 2002. Also home to the Etihad stadium, where Manchester City football club play their home games. The race is a large lap with a 2km loop at the end to finish up Mancunian way and back in the stadium.

I won’t lie, it’s not the most picturesque race, but it was a spectacularly well organised event (Sports Tours International / UK Fast) with a good warm-up, a quick start and finish process, a goody bag (with tech t-shirt and medal) and lot’s of water available at the start, middle and end of the race.WeLoveManchester10k

Pace, where did you go?

WeLoveManchester10km

My complete lack of training for this event definitely showed on race day. Even RaceDaySelfiethough I wore my Garmin, I went out too quick and then ended up walking a lot. My first two kilometres were around 5:25 pace, my 6th was 6:45!

I set off thinking “this is going to be tough” and boy was I right. Race conditions were pretty awesome, it was overcast but not raining, but maybe a little warm for my liking. Had I trained, it wouldn’t have been a problem, but I found myself gagging for a drink of water by 3 1/2km, and I don’t carry a bottle so had to wait until the water station at 5km. I then carried this for the rest of the race and found myself walking for 30 second stretches whilst I took in some liquid.

I finished with a chip time of 1 hour and 2 seconds, damn that last bit of walking! I was kicking myself after the race thinking why didn’t I just push that bit harder…but at the end of the day, I wasn’t physically prepared.

Here’s a post-race sweaty selfie for you, look at that fringe!

Post-race selfie

I felt pretty crappy after the race, and even though I hydrated well I still got a banging headache. I persevered though, and celebrated finishing with a glass of prosecco and some vegetable pasta with smoked bacon. Savoy cabbage, soy beans, courgette, soup pasta, smoked bacon and black pepper Boursin, delicious!

Pasta vegetables bacon

My next race is Salford 10k on September 4th, and I PB’s last time, so I’m hoping that I can get somewhere close to that time again (54:43) with a good amount of training. It also fits in nicely with our holiday, and I’ll tell you more about my holiday count-down later this week!

Have you run any races or competed in any sporting events recently? Did you do better or worse than you planned?
xoxo

One thought on “Post-Race Recap

Leave a Reply

