Life Diary – Where did June go?

WOW, June absolutely flew by. We were busy pretty much every weekend and throughout the weeks with birthdays, concerts and events, so sorry I haven’t blogged in a while!

I have however been taking pictures, so thought I’d do a little June recap!


My sister did the Leeds Triathlon in June (so impressed and proud!) and we snagged lots of goodies from the CHIA Co. stand in the expo area.

They’ve brought out a new bread with Hovis that has chia seeds in it, so delicious and great as toast!

CHIA Co Leeds Triathlon

After watching Helen swim (1500m), cycle (42.5km) and run (10km) around Leeds we were ready for some lunch, and headed to The Botanist in Leeds. I had the salt and pepper crispy beef salad and it was soooo good!Salt and pepper beef salad

I haven’t done as much running as I would have liked (especially as it’s the We Love Manchester 10km on Sunday and I wanted to get a good time) but when I have hit the tracks, there’s been some beautiful views!

Sunset Canal Run Canal Run

We went to a comedy evening at a local festival (Grassington Festival for anyone living in the North of England) and saw Rob beckett, Shappi Khorsandi and Rich Hall with his Honky Tonk band. All the acts were really funny, and i enjoyed a very civilized glass of champagne during the evening.

Champagne

I’m loving roast vegetables at the moment, and have been trying to have simple foods cooked well.

courgette, pineapple and chilli

Courgettes with pineapple and chilli flakes roasted in the oven (a mix of leftovers but surprisingly delicious) accompanied with M&S deli bits. 20160626_195516
Grilled Corn

Corn, grilled, sauteed, in salads, I LOVE corn! Here I sauteed it with chilli flakes and garlic herbs.

Steak with roast cauliflower, courgettes and potato wedges. 20160611_204612 Steak Allioli

Really easy to make, fairly quick and very satisfying! I like to dunk the veg in Allioli!

 

I can’t be good all the time though, and my treats have included:

Salted caramel Haagen-Daas

Haagen-Daas

3 ingredient pancakes (eggs, bananas and spelt flour) with The Collective passion fruit yogurt and strawberries

Pancakes, yoghurt and strawberries

Chipotle pulled pork with (more) roast veg and two fried eggs !

Pulled port, roast vegetables and fried egg

I’ll try and get back into more regular posting!

Happy summer folks!
xoxo

Leave a Reply

