Recipe: Update to Stuffed Peppers

Back in 2014 I shared my food diary for a day, and it included Stuffed peppers as my evening meal. I promised that I would take pictures, and I never did (although I did say that I would probably forget at the time). So I’m righting my wrongs and today, over a year later, I bring you my recipe for healthy stuffed peppers! Filling, fun and great as leftovers for lunch the next day.

This isn’t the quickest recipe ever (but it still comes in at less than 30 minutes to prep and cook), but it has such potential for mixing flavours and ingredients that I challenge you not to make these!

Stuffed Peppers

Note: I used to cook quinoa as the main filling for this recipe but I’m terrible at cooking it properly (it’s always to wet) so I now use Uncle Ben’s 5 Wholegrains. It also saves a lot of time, halving the cooking time and meaning that I can spend the extra time with my little girl after work rather than standing over a pan.

Ingredients (serves 2, or 1 with leftovers)

2 x large peppers – cut in half length-ways and take out the seeds
1 pouch of Uncle Ben’s 5 Wholegrains
160g Brussels Sprouts – shredded
80g tinned sweetcorn – drained
1 large carrot – I spiralized mine this time but in the past I have just chopped it finely60g roule cheese (I usually use Boursin)
1 tsp dried chilli flakes
1 clove of garlic – minced
Oil for cooking – whichever you prefer
NB: Just double the ingredients to make for 4 people (or 2 with leftovers)

Method

  1. Pre-heat the oven to about 180 degree Celsius/350 Fahrenheit/Gas Mark 4
  2. Place the peppers onto a non-stick baking sheet, cut side up, and roast whilst you make the filling
  3. Heat the oil in a frying pan on a high-heat and add the garlic, sweetcorn and sprouts until they start to brown (about 3 minutes, stirring occasionally)
  4. Add the carrot and the chilli flakes, and sauté for a further 2 minutes20160215_185256
  5. Whilst the vegetables are cooking, heat the rice in a microwave for 2 minutes
  6. Add the rice to the vegetables and stir until everything is combined
  7. Add the cheese into the pan and mix
  8. Splash a small amount of water into the pan – just enough to help the cheese coat the rice and vegetable mixture
  9. Take the peppers out of the oven, hopefully they will have started to wilt and maybe even char a little on the edges20160215_190002
  10. Spoon the filling into each half of the pepper equally. I normally have some mixture left, so put this into your bowl.plate that you’ll use to serve
  11. Return the now stuffed peppers into the oven and cook for 10 minutes
  12. Serve onto the bed of rice/vegetable mixture and eat whilst they are still warm

20160215_191733

For leftovers, simply store them in an airtight, microwavable container and heat for 2 minutes.

You can adapt the filling for each season, and if you want additional meat small pieces of chicken would work or quorn. These are a great #MeatlessMonday option!

Let me know if you make stuffed peppers and what your favourite filling if!
xoxo

Leave a Reply

