Friday Round-Up: I didn’t stay dry for long!

I had planned on completing Dry January again this year, after staying sober all January in 2015. However, thanks to a crappy day at work, I cracked on the 11th and had a gin and tonic, then again on the 12th and 13th.

My lack of restraint combined with pulled muscles in my back and an apparent obsession with chocolate, my January health kick didn’t get off to the best of starts.

So as I haven’t been able to give up alcohol, I’ve decided to start Lent early and will be embarking on a chocolate ban. I started my ban on Monday 18th and it will run throughout February and most of March to Easter Sunday on the 27th. Although its only been 5 days, I haven’t been tempted too much to, and have found that my raging sweet tooth in general has calmed down.

In another attempt to stay accountable, I’ve also started tracking my food and exercise through My Fitness Pal again (sarahbcollett) to help bring my portion sizes back under control.

Since my last weigh-in, I’ve gained a pound and then lost 2, so I’m down 1lb total at 162lb.

Last night was my first time doing any strenuous exercise in weeks as well with a Zumba class. Although my back felt a little bit stiff and my stamina had declined, it felt great to be back in class and working out.

I’ve registered for the Salford 10k in September and will try and get one booked in for the summer to give me something to aim towards.

Does anyone else need a goal or challenge to help motivate them? Or does anyone else feel like their New Year’s health kick will be starting in February rather than January?

I’m really looking forward to the weekend, happy Friday everyone!
xoxo

Leave a Reply

