Good for the soul, not for the waistband!

Food for the body is not enough, there must be food for the soul. – Dorothy Day

Happy Monday everyone! Today I’ve got some foody photos to share with you, apologies about the picture quality, they were all taken on my phone with shaky hands! I also want to talk about food for the soul. Those go-to comfort food dishes that you choose when you need nourishing. For me, that’s pasta cooked in salty water, with peas and cheese, lots of CHEESE!

And that’s exactly what I cooked last night.

comfort food pasta cheese peas

Macaroni pasta cooked in Knorr chicken stock concentrate (I didn’t have any cooking salt in the house), frozen Birds Eye peas, a knob of Tesco garlic roule and some Ichester applewood smoked cheddar. This definitely won’t have helped my clothes fit any better (hello, water retention!) but as I was cooking it, and then eating it, a sense of peace and contentment washed over me.

Comfot food pasta cheese peas

So what else I have been eating lately?

Spicy pulled pork with asparagus, roast peppers and roast courgettes!

pulled pork and vegetables pulled pork and vegetables pulled pork and vegetables

Another amazing Fahita bowl, with char-grilled peppers and corn!

fahita bowl

Let me tell you about this amazing food! When we were in Majorca last year, we went to a tapas restaurant where I had Medjool dates wrapped in bacon. I’ve tried this a couple of times at home and always love it! So on Saturday night, I had 4 MASSIVE Medjool dates and wrapped them in pancetta. To accompany the dates, I sliced some courgettes, spread some roule cheese on them and then wrapped them in pancetta too! To cook them, I just place them in the oven at about 160 Celsius for around 20 minutes, or until the pancetta is crispy and the courgettes are wilting.

This feast was to. die. for.

courgett roule pancetta medjool dates Medjool dates wrapped in pancetta courgett roule pancetta

And some Cadbury Hero chocolates, because, chocolate!

chocolate

So this definitely wasn’t healthy food, but I enjoyed eating it immensely and never let myself really pig out over the weekend, even though I went to a party with tables full of delicious homemade cake!

What’s your favourite comfort food?
xoxo

One thought on “Good for the soul, not for the waistband!

Leave a Reply

