Recipe: Fajita Bowls

My hubby would eat fajitas everyday if he could, and because we have them at least twice a month but normally once a week, its easy to get bored.

Plus, I don’t like sour cream, salsa or guacamole, so my Fajitas can sometimes be a bit dull. That’s why I started making fajita bowls. Not only do they cut out some of the refined carbs in the wraps, but it’s easier to add different ingredients and experiment.

Ingredients (serves one person):
200g turkey or chicken breast meat, cut into small pieces or strips
1 medium carrot, shredded (I use a julienne peeler)
1/4 cucumber cut into small pieces
100g sweetcorn (I use tinned and normally use the rest of the jar in my tuna salads)
25g cheese – I love Applewood Smokes Cheddar
Fajita seasoning – we use Santa Maria
2 x Fajita wraps – we use Ol Del Paso Stand ‘n’ Stuff fajita bowls which are very handy!
Condiments – I use hot sweet chili sauce and sriracha

Method:

  1. Shred the carrot and chop the cucumber and put into your bowl20150907_192636
  2. In a frying pan, dry-fry the sweetcorn so that it browns slightly for a nutty taste
  3. Whilst the sweetcorn is cooking, chop the turkey into pieces
  4. Add the sweetcorn to the bowl and add the turkey straight into the frying pan, add a teaspoon of oil if required
    20150907_193939
  5. When the turkey is nearly cooked, add the spice mix so each piece is coated
  6. When the turkey is fully cooked, add it to the bowl and top with the grated cheese
    20150907_19443520150907_194452
  7. Cook your fajita wraps/bowls in the microwave (they only take a few seconds)
    20150907_194641
  8. Assemble your bowls/wraps! I like to make two bowls out of the ingredients and then there is some extra which I just eat like a salad. I top the bowls and remaining food with some of the chili sauce and sriracha for some moisture and extra flavour!

20150907_195001 20150907_195407

Apologies for the quality of the last two images, I just wanted to get them in my belly!

Do you love Fajitas and what’s your favourite recipe?
xoxo

One thought on “Recipe: Fajita Bowls

Leave a Reply

