Salford 10km Race Recap

I did it!

Not only did I complete the Salford 10km run on Sunday, but I smashed my previous PB with a time of 54:43!

The race started at 10:15am prompt from Media City UK in Salford Quays. The race itself was very well organised with quick start and finish areas, bag drop, lots of toilets and post-run massages!

Salford 10km 2015

The weather was perfect running weather, but it was so bright I wish I’d brought my sunglasses. It was warm in the sun but the route took in enough shaded areas that I never overheated. There was a water station at 5km. The route was 95% flat and took in some of the bridges on the Quays as well as Old Trafford (home of Manchester United Football Club).

After the race we (hubby and toddler came to cheer me on!) headed for a cheeky Nandos for some lunch. I had the hummus with pitta and spicy peri drizzle, some corn on the cob and some peri-peri fries – delicious! (Nandos post-run selfie)

Post-race selfie

In the good bag was the technical t-shirt, a water bottle, finisher’s medal, a Nature valley protein bar and some discount flyers.

Tea was pasta with green vegetables and Boursin, and as a reward to myself I pinched a piece of chocolate brownie from my mum’s pub (The Fountain Inn) and had some fresh whipped cream whilst catching up on Madame Secretary, Great British Bake Off and Strictly Come Dancing!

Pasta with green vegetables and boursinChocolate Brownie with fresh cream

How was your weekend?
xoxo

4 thoughts on “Salford 10km Race Recap

Leave a Reply

