Friday Round Up – Mindful Eating, not counting calories

Eating isn’t supposed to be a math problem, It’s supposed to just be eating – unknown

Happy Friday, I’m really looking forward to this weekend and going on some fun active adventures with my bambino!

The quote above has really stuck with me the past couple of weeks. Whilst I have found that I’m most successful with weight loss as dictated by the scale, I’ve never been able to sustain that for the long term. Having to log every calorie that I ingest is time consuming and requires access to the internet (I use MyFitnessPal). I don’t want to spend minutes everyday logging every morsel, not when I could be watching Say Yes to the Dress (my guilt pleasure) or splashing in the paddling pool with the toddler.

20150716_124414 – Amazing cherries from Keehlam Farm Shop yesterday!

So instead I’ve been mindfully eating whole foods, choosing larger portions but without too many starchy carbs and processed foods. I am keeping a food journal, but I’m not recording calorie intake. I think that for me personally, this will be more manageable in the long term, and as I’m wanting this to become a lifelong habit rather than a short term weight loss fix, that’s my main goal.

I’ve also upped my exercise, including my daily squat challenge. Today I managed 100 variations of squats and arse work! They included squats with a kettlebell with an overhead press, plié squats with the kettlebell, closed legs squats with the kettlebell, saddlebag raisers (I don’t know any other way to describe them, picture taken from Pop Fitness below) and squats with a back leg raise, alternating between legs.

saddlebag raisers

And even though it’s too early to see any physical results from my increase in exercise over the past couple of weeks, I felt confident enough to wear shorts for my run last night (not tiny shorts as I don’t like any inner-thigh chafing, but shorts nonetheless!

20150716_203627 20150716_211936

Richard Simmons said something very poignant about shorts…

I don’t know about you, but every time some joker points me out as I walk through an airport wearing extra-small Dolfin shorts, a tank top and leg warmers, I get a little upset.

I feel your pain Richard!

It’s been a good week! What has everyone else felt good about this week, and what are you working on for next week?
xoxo

Leave a Reply

