Banana Berry Smoothie Bowl with Nutty Granola

I try to make sure that we eat a healthy breakfast each morning at around 7am, which is sometimes easier said than done whilst trying to get ready for work and the toddler ready for nursery.

One of my favourites is a banana berry smoothie bowl topped with granola. Not only does it taste delicious, but it keeps me satisfied until mid-morning and is packed full of healthy ingredients.

20150521_072224[1]

I have a smoothie2go maker which is super convenient as you just put all of your ingredients into the cup, screw on the lid and attached it to the machine. You can then choose to drink the smoothie straight from the cup, add a travel lid or pour it into a bowl as I do.

You can mix up the ingredients you like and there are thousands of smoothie recipes online, but this is my go to.

Ingredients:

80g frozen raspberries
80g frozen pitted cherries
1 medium banana
100g plain non-fat Greek yoghurt
1 tablespoon of ground flax or chia seeds
Tiny amount of water to loosen the smoothie up.
25g nutty granola – I’m currently using Jordans but also really like Nature Valley granola

NOTE: I like my smoothie to be thick so that I can eat it with a spoon, so I don’t add much additional liquid.

Method:

1) Place the frozen ingredients in the cup first
2) Then add the banana, in chunks
3)Top with the flax/seeds
4) Spoon in the yoghurt
5) Pour in a small amount of water straight from the tap or bottle

20150521_071819[1]
6) Turn the machine on and blend to your preferred consistency
20150521_072009[1]
7) Sprinkle on your granola and enjoy!

20150521_072235[1]

What’s your favourite smoothie combination?
xoxo

 

One thought on “Banana Berry Smoothie Bowl with Nutty Granola

Leave a Reply

