Friday Round Up – Write it all down

Making yourself accountable for ‘falling off the wagon’ can be a very effective way to get back on track towards your fitness goals.

The reason why apps and services like My Fitness Pal and Weight Watchers are so successful, is that people using these systems are held accountable for their actions through a journal. This might be a private food diary that you keep to yourself or a public forum such as a weekly meeting where you discuss your ups, downs and relapses with like-minded people.

I have used My Fitness Pal in the past and found that I lost the most weight when I tracked my Calorie intake every day to the nth degree, but do you know what? I was miserable and spending a lot of my time obsessing over every calorie I ate and burnt and looking online for nutritional information.

And whilst yes, I agree that it is important to be educated about the food you are eating, what’s in it and how was it made, it’s also important to live your life whilst you’re trying to make it healthier. Being afraid to go to a restaurant for fear that you don’t know how many calories are in a meal, or saying no to friends because you want to exercise is really rubbish!

So, I’ve bought a new diary and I plan to keep a journal of what I eat, but not worry too much about the number of calories I consume. What I intend to focus on is the nutritional make up of the food a eat. Have I eaten fruit and vegetables each day? have I had some lean protein? Have I managed to avoid overeating unhealthy foods? Have I exercised at least 4 times each week? Have I avoided feeling deprived by allowing myself a little of what I fancy, when I fancy?

If I can say YES to all of these questions, then I know that I am achieving a healthy lifestyle and should continue to see my body transform.

Have a great weekend everyone, and stay healthy in your body AND your mind!
xoxo

One thought on “Friday Round Up – Write it all down

Leave a Reply

