Photo Progress

Use progress photos to measure your accomplishments, not the number on the scale (or as well as).

People say that you should use progress photos to really see how your body changes when you adopt a healthy lifestyle and want to lose extra weight. And I mostly agree. If you are building strength then it is likely that additional muscle will counter-balance fat loss, so you may not see the scale move as much as you want to, but your body composition will change. With that said, I do use the scale to track my weight loss as well as progress photos.On Friday (13th February) I weighed in at 156lb, and this weekend I took some progress shots.

Comparison July 2013, Aug 2014, Feb 2015

On the left was a couple of months after having my baby, and I weighed about 175lb. In the middle was Aug/Sep last year and I weighed somewhere between 157 and 159 pounds. The photo on the right is from February 2015 and I weighed 156lb. I know there is no major difference between the second and third pictures, but I am definitely slimmer in the stomach and my posture has improved.

Do you take progress photos to track how a healthier lifestyle is changing your body?
xoxo

Leave a Reply

