Christmas Break Exercise Challenge

UPDATE: This lasted about 3 days once I had finished work and all of our guests had arrived, so there you go. I went on 1 run (nearly 8km) the evening before Christmas Eve and that was it for exercise over the holidays. OOPS.



 

I LOVE Christmas! I love the time off work, the twinkling lights, time spent with friends and family, but most of all, I love the indulgence of this time of year.

Unfortunately, each Christmas for the past few years has seen me gain weight like no other time. I go wild with sweet treats, cheese boards and turkey, and am normally fairly inactive.

So this year, I have set myself a little exercise challenge that will run between Tuesday 16th December (as that’s when I thought of it) and Sunday 4th January. Monday 5th I will be back at work full time and back to my lunchtime gym dates.

Each day I have to complete 4-5 exercises, and the number of reps will increase as the challenge goes on.

On Tuesday 16th I started with:

  • 15 x Jumping Jacks
  • 10 x standard squats
  • 5 x press ups (not modified)
  • 20 seconds of plank (on hands not forearms)

By the 4th January I will be doing:

  • 15 x Jumping Jacks
  • 20 x standard squats
  • 10 x press ups (not modified)
  • 60 seconds of plank (on hands not forearms)
    AND
  • 10 single leg kettelbell dead-lifts on each leg

I have done the challenge each day so far, keep checking back to see how I do over Christmas!

Have you set yourself any health/fitness goals over the holidays?

xoxo

Leave a Reply

