Fitting it in – no excuses

When I became a mum, it was the height of summer, the sun was shining and hours of walking around parks and villages was the norm. Then I went back to work. And then it started raining – pretty much none stop from October to February.

What did that mean? It meant that I did hardly any exercise.

Why not? It’s too cold, I’m tired, I haven’t seen my baby in too long, it’s late, I don’t want to!

Excuses, excuses, excuses. The truth was that I just got lazy, I didn’t want to have to work all day, go home, put the baby to bed, make the hubby’s tea and then go do some exercise, no way! So what’s the solution? You gotta fit it in people!

Now I have started hilunch workouttting the gym during my lunch hour a few times a week. It’s surprising how much you can fit into 1 hour. I get to the gym, put on my workout gear, do a 20 minute intense workout, hit the shower, get dressed, dry my hair AND get back to work. Then I can just sit at my desk and eat lunch.

Do I want to go to the gym during my lunch hour? No! Would I rather be surfing the internet or scrolling through my Tumblr feed? Hell yes! But you know what? If I didn’t fit a workout in my lunch hour a few times a week, I wouldn’t get any exercise done. And not only does that make me feel bad, it makes me a bad example for my daughter.

So how do you fit your workouts into a busy schedule?

xoxo

Leave a Reply

