As Waterboy’s mum would say “Alcohol is the DEVIL!”

 

 

When it comes to losing weight, alcohol can be the difference between reaching your target or staying bloated, wobbly and unhappy with your body image. For me, I really struggle with choosing between having a couple of drinks on a Friday night and then having the motivation to get to the gym and eat healthily for the rest of the weekend.

 

 

Here is how alcohol affects my weight loss:

  1. Alcohol is basically just empty calories so I might have stuck to 1500 calories throughout the day, but come 9pm on a Friday night and that figure could be a good 1000 calories bigger just from a few glasses of wine!
  2. Alcohol makes me hungry – after a few glasses of cider I have hunger pangs. This is a mix of dehydration and the munchies. I reach for whatever I can find in the fridge or end the night in the local pizza takeaway with a full-sized garlic bread with cheese all to myself.
  3. Alcohol makes me incredibly hung over! I used to be able to party the night away, having multiple drinks throughout the night and wake up the next day feeling great. Now, I wake up with a headache, really tired and often feeling rather nauseous. Not only does this mean that I can’t get out of bed to go to the gym, I also tend to reach for the nearest fatty food like McDonalds and full-fat coke.

All in all, alcohol = epic fail when it comes to weight loss. But then we come to another problem…I don’t necessarily want to stop drinking alcohol. I like a gin & tonic, a glass of wine and a vintage cider when the mood takes me. I just don’t have that switch in my brain that tells me I have had enough and maybe now would be a good time to switch to water or soft drinks.

Does anyone else have this problem?

I mean, don’t get me wrong, I am not a raging alcoholic and only drink once or twice a week at the most, in fact, I can go for weeks at a time without a drop of alcohol passing my lips! I just need to find the right balance between letting my hair down and getting a hangover!

xoxo

2 thoughts on “As Waterboy’s mum would say “Alcohol is the DEVIL!”

Leave a Reply

