Sleep – count those sheep if you want to lose weight!

 

So, it’s 1am and you’re staring at the ceiling, then it’s 2am, then 3am and so on and so on…

A bad night’s sleep can do a lot of damage not only to your mood, but to your weight loss efforts as well.

Take today for example. Last night I got into bed at 9:30pm and watched an episode of Once Upon a Time (highly recommended!) before turning off the light and switching off the TV.

I put my head on my pillow, closed my eyes and got ready to drift off into dreamland. And then I couldn’t get to sleep. I looked at the clock every 30 minutes for the next few hours, before finally falling into slumber. Unfortunately, I then awoke at 6:00am as the morning glare pierced through the curtains.This would have been fine had I fallen asleep at 11pm, but with 3-4 hours of sleep you could say that I woke up on the wrong side of the bed and an hour before my alarm was set to go off.

For the rest of the day I have had no energy and have felt hungry – even though I have eaten normal amounts of food. This hunger has led me to unwrap two chocolate bars (a Twix and a Crunchie) which I have been really trying to avoid.

So you can see how tiredness can lead you to reach out for unhealthy foods as a way to replace lost energy throughout the day. There have been loads of studies on the impact that sleep has on weight loss – just Google it and you will find every health guru worth their salt advising a good night’s sleep.

Hopefully tonight will be a different story – and I can dream of the fit, healthy and strong body I am working towards.

Sweet dreams xoxo

 

Leave a Reply

