Day 1 of the Attack…

I have a cold! But I won’t let that de-rail me from my attack plans. Tonight I will be hitting the gym followed by a long soak in the bath and for tea I will be having some savoy cabbage with smoked bacon and a poached egg. Mmm mmm mmm!

To make my fantastically festive meal I begin by boiling a large pan of water and shredding my cabbage into bite-size strips. You don’t need to add salt to the water as the bacon will be salty enough later!

Whilst your cabbage is softening in the water, heat a frying pan and add your bacon, chopped into lardons. If you are using streaky bacon you don’t need to add oil, but maybe spritz some spray oil if you are using normal back bacon. Fry the bacon until crispy and then add the now soft cabbage. Allow the cabbage to pick up the bacon oil and the little specs of porky goodness in the pan as you stir.

At the same times as this, you need to fill a pan with water until it boils. Add a drop of vinegar and stir to create a little whirlpool in the pan. Crack an egg and drop it into the whirlpool, this should help the whites of the egg to stay together. Cook until the whites are firm or to your own liking (I like the yolk to infuse with the cabbage and bacon when I break into the egg!)

Take the cabbage and bacon out of the pan and place in a bowl or on a plate. Top it off with the poached egg and a sprinkling of cracked black pepper.

Et Voila! A tasty, seasonal meal which will leave you feeling satisfied, full and festive!

xoxo

Leave a Reply

